RSS Feed

NORA AND MARION

Posted on

Much has been written about Nora Ephron in the past week, and I can’t add much to it. I read most of her books, and all her columns in the Huffington Post. I didn’t always agree with her; I thought she could be a bit privileged (carrying on about some purse that cost more than I make in two months, plus the eyebrow weaving – whatever that is)  and I didn’t always get her point. But I loved “Heartburn” and the recipes, almost all of which I’ve made.

I’ve made this one more than any of the others. This is what Nora threw at her then-husband, Carl Bernstein, at a dinner party when she realized, “with shimmering clarity… nothing mattered except that he didn’t love me. If I throw this pie at him, he will never love me. But he doesn’t love me anyway. So I can throw the pie if I want to. I picked up the pie, thanked God for the linoleum floor, and threw it.”

KEY LIME PIE

“The key lime pie is very simple to make. First you line a 9-inch pie plate with a graham cracker crust. Then beat 6 egg yolks. Add one cup lime juice (even bottled lime juice will do), two 14-ounce cans sweetened condensed milk, and 1 tablespoon grated lime rind. Pour into the pie shell and freeze. Remove from freezer and spread with whipped cream. Let sit five minutes before serving.” – Nora Ephron, “Heartburn”

I just read that Marion Cunningham died today. She was 90. You might never have heard of her, but you surely have heard of “The Fannie Farmer Cookbook,” which she revised in 1990. For many years she wrote a food column for the San Francisco Chronicle, and I have some of those old columns clipped out and glued in a scrapbook, including one with the memorable phrase, “I don’t know why, but I can hardly be civil to anyone who eats his hamburger with avocado and salsa on it. Without expensive therapy, we will probably never solve the mystery.”

This is one of Marion’s recipes. It’s ultra-simple and very delicious, as well as very healthy. I like to put chopped green onions and a spoonful of plain yogurt on top, or sometimes a fried egg.

LENTILS AND SALSA

Combine 3/4 dried lentils, 2 cups tomato-based salsa, one chopped onion, 5 cups water, and salt in a pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer 45 minutes.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: TWO EASY BRUNCH DISHES « Eggs In Hell

  2. Pingback: THE DEFINITIVE WAY TO COOK TRI-TIP « Eggs In Hell

Leave a Reply

