RSS Feed

RUM BALLS

In the very late 1970s and early 1980s there was a sudden vogue for rum balls, served in certain types of female-patronized tearooms and bakeries. They were small truffle-like chocolate confections, very sweet, with an extremely small amount of rum – more likely it was rum flavoring. I haven’t seen them in years.

My husband said his mother used to make rum balls that were baked and were flaky or crispy. I did a lot of inquiring and recipe searches before finding this one, which he says is pretty close to what he remembers. It was sent to me online by a nice person whose name I’ve forgotten but who said she remembered the same type of cookie when she was a child.

This is from http://www.Food.com. I have tweaked it very slightly.

Polish Rum Balls

    • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 cup finely ground nuts
    • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature ( 1 1/2 sticks)
    • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
    • 2-3 tablespoons rum ( light or dark, your choice)
    • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
    • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
    • confectioners’ sugar
  1. Combine flour, pecans, butter, sugar, rum, vanilla, and nutmeg in bowl.
  2. Refrigerate 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Roll rounded teaspoons of dough into 3/4-inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheets. Put unused dough back in refrigerator.
  5. Bake  12 to 15 minutes, until bottoms of cookies golden brown.
  6. Remove to rack to cool. These are much flakier once they have cooled.
  7. If desired, dust with additional sugar before serving.

I think you could substitute other liquors for the rum – whiskey, brandy, bourbon, etc. – and have a successful outcome. If you don’t want to use liquor, perhaps some orange juice would be a good substitute.

4 responses »

  1. Ooh, love this! I have to try it.

    Reply
    • The original recipe said you should make the balls, put them on the cookie sheet, THEN refrigerate them for an hour.

      I don’t know about you but my refrigerator is full of stuff and I have no room for cookie sheets. I changed the recipe to how it reads now and the cookies are pretty damn good (as my husband mentioned, there is a cookie shortage going on so I guess I need to get on that).

      Reply
  2. Yum! One of my favourite ways to make normal cookies extra rich/yummy is to use a tsp of dark rum instead of vanilla. Without fail friends eating them will question what is different about them than other cookies. They never guess rum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

