RSS Feed

AMSTERDAM FOOD, PART 3

Posted on

So, you know, pancakes. There are a number of pancake houses in Amsterdam. The most famous – or infamous, depending on your point of view – might be the Upstairs Pancake House that inspired the Beastie Boys to write, “When I’m in Holland, I eat the pannekoeken.” We walked past it once but haven’t eaten there. We really like Sara’s Pancake House on Rozengracht.

Banana and pineapple pancake.

DSCN0465

Blueberry pancake. You might notice that Dutch pancakes are similar to French crepes.

DSCN0466

If we are out late – say, listening to music at a club – our favorite thing to do afterwards is find a Vlaamse frites stand. Vlaamse frites is kind of a bastardized phrase – frites is French for fries and Vlaamse is Dutch for Flemish. Belgium makes the best French fries in the world and these are the Dutch version. What makes them so good? When you order your fries, you’ll see a gigantic container behind the counter holding a lot of French fries. The counterman scoops up a portion of fries from that container and fries them again. You might think that makes them unbelievably oily, but no, they turn out so crisp and delicious you can never go back to American fries without whining a little.

The standard topping is mayonnaise – which is slightly sweeter and goopier than Best Foods – and chopped onions. You can also get curry sauce, green sauce, aioli, and several other sauces you might not associate with French fries. I once ordered the sate (peanut) sauce and while it was not bad, I feel that I never have to order that again. Peanut sauce + French fries = mouth full of starch that felt like wet drywall. Maybe it’s a Dutch thing.

Vlammse frites also make a good breakfast.  You will need at least two Wet Wipes to clean your hands afterwards.

DSCN0501

Amsterdam also has the best ice cream in the world. There is a small chain called IJscuypje, which is pronounced close to ice-cowp – meaning ice cream in a cup.  The fruit flavors taste like that fruit. The creamy flavors are rich without being sticky or too sweet. There is always a line out the door. We hit them at least half a dozen times.

Below, blood orange.

DSCN0511

Top one, below, is pistachio (my husband’s favorite) and I think the bottom one was names after a type of Dutch cookie that I can’t remember the name of.

DSCN0529

I think this one was rum raisin.

DSCN0528

There is a little Italian restaurant on Rozengracht – kitty-corner from Westerkerk – called Venezia del Nord. I ate there many years ago when I came to Amsterdam by myself and we still are eating there.

DSCN0544

Tomato salad with garlic bread. The “bread” is really just refrigerator biscuits but the garlic butter is heavenly.

DSCN0546

Spaghetti carbonara. LOVE.

DSCN0549

Stracciatella soup. You know egg drop soup? Imagine egg drop soup if a Roman made it with Parmesan cheese instead of soy sauce.

DSCN0743

Spaghetti with marinara.

DSCN0744

Tagliatelle with salmon. God, do I love this.

DSCN0745

One day I really wanted fish and chips for lunch. There are a number of Irish pubs in Amsterdam that serve it, but do you think I could find one? Nope, we just wandered around getting tired and hungry. But we did pass a brewery, Brouwerij de Prael, and then doubled back to step inside.  The lady in the museum part gave us discount coupons toward beer served in their restaurant, which was around the corner in an alleyway. They served fish and chips.

We were seated near two Dutch salesmen who ordered a sampler of beers. I tried to be really sneaky and take a picture.

DSCN0583

But I wasn’t too successful. Pretty soon they sent over their tray of beef tartare meatballs with caramelized onions. I like raw beef, and I trust the Dutch food safety people, so I happily ate them. My husband was less enthusiastic (or more suspicious of raw beef), but he did like the onions. Pretty soon the two guys gave us the beer they couldn’t drink (they were driving) and we took that too.

DSCN0585

So we ordered food. My husband got these (cooked) meatballs which were excellent

DSCN0588

plus this dark bread with garlic butter and tapenade.

DSCN0590

And me – I got the fish and chips. Some of the best fish I ever had. I don’t know what kind it was – and even if they had told me, it might have been something you can’t get in the US, or the translation might not have made sense. But it was really good.

DSCN0586

Years ago when I stayed in small hotels, the breakfasts served were simple but very different from American breakfasts. Rusks, thin slices of cheese and ham, a soft-boiled egg, toast. There are many places now where you can get more elaborate breakfasts – called American breakfast or English or Australian. Our favorite place is La Grotte on Haarlemmerstraat.

An uitsmeijter (out-smiter) is fried eggs on toast, topped with cheese and possibly meat. All the ingredients are so good that it tastes better than what you could make at home.

DSCN0623

La Grotte understand American-style pancakes.

DSCN0624

Amsterdam is a very diverse city. The neighborhood we stayed in has large populations from Iran, Turkey, Brazil, Egypt, Suriname, India, Iraq, etc. There were many places serving Middle Eastern food, which is good because we are huge fans of it. There was a tiny cafe around the corner from our apartment called Lissabon (dutch for Lisbon) and we happened into it because they were open late one night.

The lamb sandwich on Turkish pita with yogurt sauce and hot sauce was so good it brought tears to our eyes, and not just from the hot sauce.

DSCN0641

I don’t know what the stuffed red bell pepper had in it, but I would sure like to find out. Bulgar wheat, I guess, and maybe ground lamb, but the rest is a mystery forever because I don’t speak Turkish or Dutch and the staff barely spoke English.

DSCN0644

We ordered this by accident or by miscommunication. What we really wanted was just the eggplant, but what we got was a plateful that included rice, potatoes, a kind of vegetable stew that was poured over, plus the eggplant. It was so good we ordered it deliberately another time.

DSCN0640

The Turkish pizza, though – that might have been the best of all. It was on lavosh (I think) bread, rolled up with lamb, tomatoes, lettuce, yogurt and onions, and somehow heated or crisped or something.

DSCN0686

We didn’t buy anything at Jordino on this trip, but I have in the past. Their chocolates are some of the best anywhere, and incredibly inventive.

DSCN0614

DSCN0615

DSCN0617

Lastly – Perel white beer it Cafe Soundgarden, a place Anthony Bourdain says is “pretty relaxing” and can be accessed by boat if you so choose.

Here is a tip from me: do not order a cocktail in Europe unless you are somewhere like The American Bar at the Savoy Hotel in London or Harry’s Bar in Venice or The Ritz in Paris. Order beer, wine, or shots. Otherwise, you will be throwing your money away on something undrinkable, as I have many times in the past. Europe, I love you, but you don’t know how to make a cocktail. The exceptions I listed will charge you more money than you thought possible, but the cocktail will be exceptionally good, plus the American Bar brings you silver dishes full of olives, potato chips, and almonds, so that kind of makes up for the $25  plus VAT you’ll spend on one drink.

DSCN0540

DSCN0542

2 responses »

  1. This is my second time to view this “Amsterdam Food Post… and I can’t believe that I didn’t comment on it before. I love all these posts about your “Amsterdam Trip ~ Fantastic!!!
    My mouth was watering the whole time… just looking at all the things you saw, ate, and didn’t… Fantastic!!!
    I stopped by today after checking out “the green soup” posted for October, 2013… and thought I’d take a trip “down memory lane”… again… Fantastic!!!
    I’ve never been to Amsterdam… my husband was Dutch and his people were from Friesland… so I remember them talking about a lot of these foods… but often they would revert back to speaking in Dutch and I’d have to ask them to please explain it to me in English… they’d laugh and do so… and it was always a pleasant time.
    Thanks for sharing this fantastic trip of yours… I really enjoyed “my trip to Amsterdam” ~
    Thanks, again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

